

# **Couta Boat Association Inc.**

15th AGM Meeting held on Friday 18th August, 2017 at Hart Marine Mornington

## **MINUTES**

**Present:** Wayne Parr, Bill Davis, Rod Martin, Peter Sydes, Robert Tucker and 55 Members

1. Minutes of the AGM held on 11th August 2016 were taken as read and confirmed.

(Proposed Andrew Skinner, Seconded David Hendy)

### 2. PRESIDENTS REPORT President James Mighell:

It gives me great pleasure to present the 15th President's Report for the Couta Boat Association (Club). I would like to commence by thanking the team at Sorrento Sailing Couta Boat Club led by Richard Hurley, Club Captain Drew Marget; and the Club's administration for the successful running of a number of our key events over the past season.

In particular the I would like to thank the race committee; Sailing Operations Manager, Adam Hawkins; race officers and race team for an outstanding 2016/2017 sailing season

The CBA Is the organiser of a number of key events on the Couta Boat calendar that include the Couta Boat Nationals, the State Titles, the Portsea Cup and the Portsea Picnic. It is intended that all of these events will remain in our calendar going forward.

Participation in fleet racing has remained steady. What is especially pleasing is to see a variety of boats In the fleet with podium finishes. For example, from 16 aggregate races this season, there were 12 different winners!

One of the highlights of the racing season was undoubtedly seeing Muriel C17 win the Portsea Cup from a combined fleet of 50 boats. How fitting on her 100th birthday.

### Congratulations to the winners of the following major regattas.

**Couta Boat Aggregate SSCBC** Div 1 *Kate* C305 Richard Hurley Div 2 Morning Star C157 Rhys Tucker Portsea Cup Muriel C17 Tim Phillips **State Titles** Div 1 Wagtail C86 Cam Miles Div 2 Lucy C31 Michael Golding **Couta Boat National Titles** Div 1 Kate C305 Richard Hurley Div 2 Joan C99 Rob Tucker





The 2017 State titles were held at Mornington Yacht Club on a weekend where the weather gods were not particularly kind to us. I would like to thank the Committee and membership of the Mornington Yacht Club and, in particular, the hard work of Rod Austin, the Club Manager, in hosting this event.

A considerable amount of work has been done by our committee and the New South Wales Couta Boat Association working toward the National Championships to be held in New South Wales at the start of October. This is an opportunity to profile our beautiful boats on Sydney Harbour and Pittwater and to raise the profile of our fleet to a National level. I would like to thank Larry Eastwood from NSW CBA for his hard work in bringing this together.

Ray Eades has retired as club measurer earlier in the season. I would like to thank him on behalf of the committee for his hard work performing what is at times a very challenging job.

The Committee's focus for the forthcoming season will be on participation in our regattas and events. This reflected in our continual focus on handicap rather than line honours results. I personally would like to commend to members the Lacco Cup which in past years has produced a forum for a "relaxed Sunday sail". I hope that all Division 2 sailors continue to support the series.

I would finally like to thank Wayne Parr, the immediate past president and the CBA committee for their hard work and I look forward to working with them over the coming year.

#### James Mighell President

Proposer to accept the Presidents Report: Wayne Johnson Seconded: Chris Malkin

## 3. TREASURERS FINANCIAL REPORT from the August 11th, 2016 AGM

- **Bill Davis reported that although the finances are healthy** and managed conservatively, there will be some added expenses surrounding the 2017 Nationals in NSW.

Bill emphasized the CBA exists to promote the iconic Couta boat class and the NSW nationals will be a great opportunity to promote our class. (Financial Report attached)

#### 5. Bill Davis stated there is no legal or other requirement to audit the books and sought approval of the meeting

Proposer to accept the Financial Report: Max Chester Seconded: Andrew Creek





## **4. COMMITTEE UPDATE**

Pursuant to clause 28.2 the following committee members retire by rotation: No need for a vote as nominations do not exceed vacant positions.

President Ordinary Member Club Secretary Ordinary Member Ordinary Member James Mighell Wayne Parr Rod Martin Robert Tucker Colin Mitchell

The following committee members retain office until the 2018 AGM:

- Hon Treasurer
  Bill Davis
- Ordinary Member Tim Phillips
- Ordinary Member Russell Watson
- Vice President
- Peter Sydes

## 6. GENERAL DISCUSSION - No general business. The meeting closed at 7.30pm

#### Apologies

Vic Mulder	Ashley Summerfield	David Curry	Colin Mitchell
Bronwyn McIlveen	Russell Watson		



